Guide to the papers of Members of the New South Wales Parliament, 1856-2006 in the Mitchell Library, State Library of New South Wales.
Home Collection Overview Using the Collection Resources Enquiries

Daniel O'Connor (1844 - 1914)


Biographical Note

Daniel O'Connor (1844-1914), parliamentarian, was born at Tipperary, Ireland and migrated to Sydney with his parents in 1854. O'Connor was active in the Catholic Association and was the founding chairman of the Catholic Truth Society.

O'Connor represented Phillip Ward on the Sydney City Council between 1876 and 1885. From 1877 to 1891 O'Connor represented West Sydney in the Legislative Assembly. He was appointed postmaster-general in John Robertson's 1885 cabinet, and again in Henry Parkes' ministry in 1889. O'Connor lost his seat in the Legislative Assembly in the June 1891 election, and was subsequently appointed to the Legislative Council.O'Connor was declared bankrupt in 1892 and resigned from the Legislative Council. He was reappointed to the Legislative Council in 1895, and resigned in 1898 in order to contest a seat in the Legislative Assembly as a federal oppositionist. He won the seat of Sydney-Phillip in 1900 with protectionist support and held the seat until 1904. O'Connor withdrew from the 1904 elections when he was not endorsed as a Liberal candidate.




 Daniel O'Connor - correspondence, 1879-1893, together with a collection of autograph letters, 1854-1889, received from Sir Henry Parkes


O'Connor, Daniel, 1844 - 1914

Call No.

MLMSS 6610

Political Service


Member of Legislative Assembly


West Sydney 1877-1891


Member of Legislative Assembly


Sydney-Phillip 1900-1904


Member of Legislative Council 1891-1892


Member of Legislative Council 1895-1898
Find NSW Parlimentary Papers
Start Your Search
> Advanced search
for other search options

 Daniel O'Connor

> Members of Parliament,
Parliament of NSW


A State Library of New South Wales project for the Sesquicentenary of responsible government in NSW 1856 - 2006

A New South Wales Government Site Link to the Government site (image: NSW Coat of Arms)